My last Dewey Decimal Drinks: Thank you. Now, let’s party.

October’s Dewey Decimal Drinks will be the last under my jurisdiction, and maybe the last ever. As I’ve written recently, I’m relocating to Detroit in a few weeks.

I’d like to say THANK YOU for 2+ wonderful years, my dear alphabetizers. It has been a ton of fun. It has been an honor to get to meet you all (and introduce y’all to each other). It’s been great watching new connections, friendships, and occasionally even romances form. I have learned a lot about librarianship as a broad field, and affirmed my belief that librarians are a curious, diverse, and dangerous bunch. Don’t ever let anybody tell you that librarians are boring, or that we don’t know how to party.

Please join me for a massive Dewey Decimal Drinks on Thursday, October 15th @ 7pm. We’ll be at Luckett’s Lounge, 4616 Delmar. Luckett’s is cash only, and we will be ordering pizza, so please bring paper money.

I’m making some kind of decorations. I’ll be raffling off bookends to benefit the Gary Public Library. And I may or may not wear a garment made out of thrift store dime novels. Just come on down, and bring lots of nerdy pals. It’ll be a good time.

If anyone would potentially be interested in taking over Dewey Decimal Drinks, please contact me: clairelovesthecity {at} gmail.com.

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Forever reading between the lines,
Claire-ian the Librarian

P.S. Thanks to local activist Tom Duda for modeling for the flyer!

Published in: on October 14, 2009 at 9:55 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://curiousfeet.wordpress.com/2009/10/14/my-last-dewey-decimal-drinks-thank-you-now-lets-party/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m intending to come for a short bit before heading to Newstead for Trivia!


Leave a Reply

