Ward 7: America’s Abandoned Asylums opens tomorrow in Chicago

If you are going to be in Chicago this weekend, I highly recommend checking out the photo show Ward 7: America’s Abandoned Asylums. It showcases the work of Shawn May, who travels the country exploring and painstakingly photographing defunct mental hospitals. The extent of his travels, the depth of his knowledge, and the lengths to which he’ll go to see a building are remarkable, and his photos show it.

You can see a small sampling of his work here.

Also on display will be selections from May’s collection of artifacts that he collected in the course of his visits to various asylums, among them restraints and a gurney.

The show was curated by the esteemed Citizen Pioneer, over months of work. This gal has poured her heart into this project, and I’m really excited to see the results. TimeOut Chicago, Chicago Weekly, going.com, Gapers Block, and others have taken notice.

Squee! It’s at the Co-Prosperity Sphere, 7-11 pm, 3219 S. Morgan (at 33rd), Chicago, 60608. Here’s the flyer:

(To my 1.5 regular readers in Chicago: If you go, say hi. I’m traveling up there for it. You kin spot me because I have purple hair.)

Published in: on January 18, 2008 at 8:15 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://curiousfeet.wordpress.com/2008/01/18/ward-7-americas-abandoned-asylums-opens-tomorrow-in-chicago/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. But it’s cold! And I’m working. Bleh.

  2. Crap! I want to go to this! But it’s going to be over so soon! I’d like to see this enough that I just might try to plow through work like a madwoman this week so that I can maybe take the train up next weekend before it ends. It sounds like you’re there this weekend. Let me know if you know of or hear from anyone else interested in going up sometime this coming week or next weekend.

  3. Er, but at least I wasn’t pickpocketed on the way there. Eep.


Leave a Reply

