In the middle of the street.

I was talking to Frippy earlier this evening, and she informed me that last night she found out the namesake of her street in Dogtown: James Garner, a former Deputy Sheriff of the city.

I told her that I used to know who my street is named after, but I keep forgetting.

She asked with a faint sound of surprise in her voice, “What street do you live on now?”

“Wright.”

“Oh okay! I remembered you as living on 19th. I thought yeah, your street’s named for Benjamin and Mildred Nineteenth. They were, uh, farmers. Yeah.”

(For more street name humor, go here.)

Published in: on November 3, 2007 at 1:40 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://curiousfeet.wordpress.com/2007/11/03/in-the-middle-of-the-street/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Here is a link at the St. Louis Public Library that gives explanations of the street names in the city:

    http://www.slpl.lib.mo.us/libsrc/streets.htm#index

  2. I love those street names. And tell Frippy I wouldn’t be the least bit surprised if 19th WAS named after Mr. and Mrs. Nineteenth.


Leave a Reply

