Driving Detroit Book Talk and Reception, April 26.

So, I’m organizing this event tomorrow, and you should come.

Image

Renowned urbanist, segregation expert, mensch, and five-generation Detroiter George Galster will speak about his new book, Driving Detroit: The Quest for Respect in the Motor City. The book draws together local history, the built environment, Detroiters’ attitudes, and the writings of locals to present thoughts about the perennial question, “What happened to Detroit?” As someone who has spent several years digging in and studying this city, I both learned new-to-me information and had things I’d observed on my own connected in ways I had not thought about. In other words: Thus far, very good.

I hope you will consider joining us. There will be wine and networking, to boot. The talk is on April 26th at 5pm at the McGregor Conference Center on the Wayne State University campus. The event is free and open to the public.

(And everybody loves disclaimers: Work didn’t ask me to write this. And the opinions on this blog still have nothing to do with my employers–this is allll me.)

Published in: on April 25, 2013 at 9:54 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://curiousfeet.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/driving-detroit-book-talk-and-reception-april-26/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

